A few weeks ago my father recommended that my fiance and I count down the last 150 days to our wedding by reading the Psalter in reverse order. This is possibly one of the best recommendations that Padre has ever given to me.

Yesterday Brittany Mae and I read Psalm 150 together and it was fantastic.

“Praise the Lord” is the reverberating exhortation of book five of the Psalter, so for the next 40+ days I will continually be reading “Praise the Lord,” “Give thanks,” and “Praise God!”

How appropriate.

The verses today that made me smile were 4-5, the heart of Psalm 149.

“For the Lord takes delight in his people;

He crowns the humble with victory.

Let his faithful people rejoice in this honor

And sing for joy in their beds.”

I love that these verses give the reasons behind why the Psalmist in verses 2-3 says

“Let Israel rejoice in their Maker;

Let the people of Zion be glad in their King.

Let them praise his name with dancing

And make music to Him with timbrel and harp.”

The praise of God is rooted in his delight of our rejoicing in Him.

What a humbling and joyful thought.

Amen.

