Well, if you read my previous post (https://deeplygrateful.wordpress.com/2014/01/02/149/) and did the simple math, you should be able to figure out that today is 147 days until I get married.

Crazy.

Wow!

As I do my countdown I am encountering wonderful truths inside of the Psalms. I did not use to be a Psalms guy, but I think I can get into them–especially since they will forever be attached to my time as an engaged man (and then as a married one!)

Today Psalm 147 started off in a way that just reminded me of how much I enjoy going to church with my family. It starts off with the exhortation

“Praise the Lord”

followed by the declaration

“How good it is to sing praises to our God, how pleasant and fitting to praise him!”

My father loves to follow this verse! Every time we are headed to church we will sing in the car. We will sing choruses to hymns, and all of this acapella. Fortunately my family is decently musically inclined, so when we do a call and response song, it sounds fairly good.

But even if we did not sound good, I think the simple practice of preparing our hearts with worship was invaluable to the family. It bonded us together around a heart of worshiping our Almighty Creator, and strengthened our resolve to joyfully follow in the ways of Christ.

That is why my father sings.

So, as I think about having a family in the not too distant future, I want the practice of singing on the way to church to mark yet another Murray vehicle.

Because,

“His pleasure is not in the strength of the horse, nor his delight in the legs of the warrior; the Lord delights in those who fear Him, who put their hope in his unfailing love.” (Psalm 147:10-11)

