Have you ever seen a 57 ton stone block?

When Herod made the temple mount in Jerusalem, he quarried stones upwards to 57 tons and used them. There are only two other places in the world that have comparable blocks. And the pyramids are not one of them.

Today I saw the Temple Mount. I both walked down rabbinic tunnels that went along the Western Wall and saw the original foundation. Then, later in the day we saw the cornerstones. And… I got pictures by both of them.

But at the Western Wall there is a small section known as the Wailing Wall. I am wrapping my mind around what I saw there.

Multiple Bar Mitzvahs happened over the course of the day. I think two of them occurred during the fifteen minute span that I went into the actual part separated off for the Jews. During that entire time an elderly man crying out a prayer.

Wailing

This stark contrast of sorrow and joy around this wall startled me. I am so unfamiliar with such emotions attached to my faith. And there are both good and bad reasons for that: culturally and theologically.

But I just have to stop and wonder how it will affect my future ministry to see what it means to fervently prayer. And to have people fervently pray for two-thousand years despite few answers to prayer.

Do I pray without ceasing?

Am I fervent?

Do I believe God’s promises never fail?

There is much more I could say about today’s places, and how I saw Hezekiah’s Tunnel and could hardly fit in some spots, and how some spots I had water up to my waist. Or just talk about how that tunnel has historical significance.

But I think I will finish this blog off with just a little bit about going to a Holocaust memorial in the land of Israel.

In the Promised Land.

I have been to Dachau.

I have seen the Nuremberg memorial.

I saw the Berlin Holocaust memorial.

But I cannot fathom the eugenics of the Nazis. Millions died because they were viewed as subhuman. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eugenics)

Not even worth being alive.

Christ came to set the prisoner free. He came to mend the brokenness.

He came to overcome sin.

Pray for the peace of this city.

And from Jerusalem, to Judea, and to the ends of the world.

Shalom!

P.S. 2 days until I see my fiancé.

PPS also check out http://gtitours.org/tour/2014-01-08-pastors/ for the official trip blog.

