This Sunday (Nov. 20, 2016) I will be teaching over Psalm 136 for adult Sunday School, preaching Genesis 50 for the service, then at night I will be preaching over Psalm 100 for a community Thanksgiving service.

If that sounds like a lot, well, it is. But, I relish getting to study God’s Word, so it is actually quite enjoyable.

One thing I try to do while studying the Psalms is to find them sang in Hebrew, since these Psalms are intended to be the songs of those who are followers of Yahweh-Elohim (or, the God of the Bible). Church history is full of the Psalms being sung, and you can even find the Westminster choir singing most of them. I find that hearing them sang really helps illustrate them in my mind.

As you listen to the guy singing Psalm 136, know a couple of things.

  1. This is not me… even though he sort of looks like me
  2. The repeated phrase “ki lah-olam hasdo” is what most translations put as “his love endures forever.”
  3. That phrase looks like this in Hebrew כִּ֖י לְעוֹלָ֣ם חַסְדּֽוֹ

It could also be interpreted: Because into eternity is his faithful covenant love. I want our gratitude to be based upon the eternal goodness of God. So much in life is temporary, and it is fine and good to be thankful for it. But, this Thanksgiving, let’s set our foundation for thankfulness (and being deeply grateful) upon the solid foundation of the love of God which endures forever!

