Christmas is one of the three most sacred days of the calendar. The other two are Good Friday and Easter. These are the three days which anchor the Christ follower to the grand reality of God’s narrative of Creation through Redemption.

As I celebrate this Christmas, I have to sit back and breath a sigh of relief. This is the Christmas I have been looking forward to for a long time. This is my very first Christmas as a family man. But even more than that, it is my first Christmas as a full-time pastor.

Never in all my daydreaming did I think that my first Christmas as a father would be my first Christmas as a pastor.

I am extremely humbled by both of these life points. To hold my beautiful, dear, wonderful daughter in my arms reminds me of just how precious life is. And to stand before a congregation each Sunday bringing God’s Word is deeply humbling, reminding me of the truth that God uses “jars of clay” (2 Cor. 4:7).

God is so incredibly good.

I deserve none of this. I do not deserve my beautiful, caring, and wonderful wife, nor do I deserve the cute, giggling, and charming child she brought into this world.

I do not deserve such the giving, energetic, and worship filled church body that I pastor. Grace Bible Church is full of godly and wise people who care deeply about one another. The joy of the Lord is here.

I do not deserve redemption either.

But that is the grand drama of salvation. God’s grace is not deserved. Mercy inherently means it should have been withheld.

Christmas reminds me of the beauty of all of this!

This Advent season I preached through the topics of Hope, Love, Joy, and Peace. This weekend climaxes with the Christ candle. Our Saviour brings us hope, love, joy, and peace. And we are to bring His light into the world.

Advent is meant to prepare our hearts to properly celebrate Christmas. And I cannot properly celebrate this Christmas without emphasizing how great of joy I have in being a husband, father, and pastor. These are all gifts which remind me of the greatest gift of all, which is God’s salvation. And the birth of Jesus shows us just how amazing that salvation is.

God took on flesh, in order that those who believe can have eternal life with him, be co-heirs with Christ, and be able to glorify God and enjoy Him forever.

Merry Christmas

